Concept of Halal and Haram in Islam:
The foods which are legitimate and allowed to be eaten according to the teachings of Islam are known as halal. Islamic dietary laws explain which foods are halal or haram. Islam forbids Muslims to take haram foods and beverages. Anything containing alcohol, gelatine, animal fats and bacon is haram.
Currently Japan has very low number of Muslims as residents but the Muslim tourists visit Japan in great numbers every year. Japanese have very generous attitude towards Islam but the country lack in services and facilities for Muslims especially in finding halal food. As the Muslim community in Japan is increasing, people are starting their business for providing halal food to them. Japanese government is arranging friendly Muslim services like halal foods and prayer rooms to make it comfortable for followers of Islam to travel in Japan. Due to the lack of halal certification issued to restaurants it is very tough to find out things on their own which is resulting into tough task to maintain halal standard. Yes Halal app is developed to overcome this issue and provide Muslims of Japan to find out either the food is halal or haram.
Halal food is almost impossible to find once you go outside the major cities. You can find halal products there and cook your own food. Japanese foods like sushi and ramen contain haram ingredients like wine and pork. Also vegetable dishes like soups, snacks, pickles, dessert and bread may contain animal fat, alcohol and gelatin. Remember most of the supermarkets in Japan don’t sell halal products.
In this scenerio you can use Yes App and make sure the product you are buying is halal.
Examples of halal foods:

  • Meat: lamb, turkey, goose, kosher beef, chicken, fish and duck
  • Dairy: cheese, milk and yogurt
  • Parve Fruits: cereal products, vegetables, grains, eggs and nuts

Examples of Haram Foods:

  • Reptiles, insects, pork and amphibians
  • Scallops, shellfish and shrimp
  • Animal products made from non-certified animal